Let’s go to Oman …

So I had another extended weekend from work and of course I had to seize the opportunity and go somewhere, it wouldn’t feel like me if I stayed put huh 😀  And again I needed to go someplace near with minimal visa issuance hassles and while I was considering Dubai for the Jazz festival and the Sting concert I had friends who were going to Oman and suggested I go with them. I thought to myself, Muscat? Why would I want to go to Oman? What’s there to see or do? It wasn’t even on my list! But as I decided to join them and started searching for what to do I ended up being mesmerized by that country. Oman, please accept my deepest apologies!

Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque in Muscat

Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque in Muscat

We had only a 3 days trip where we stayed in Muscat and moved around as far as we could; those few days were enough to have my opinion changed and fall in love with Oman. Muscat on its own is beautiful. The streets, the buildings, the gardens and greenery you find everywhere, the corniche area, and the people; oh the people are so kind and welcoming  ❤  It very much reminded me of Saint Catherine in South Sinai but on a city scale. I open the window in the morning and I see mountains, I walk around and I’m still surrounded by mountains and above all of that there are those perfectly blue beaches; the scenery left me nostalgic with a sweet melancholic feeling of days past as I realized how much I have missed those weekends in Egypt where I used to go hiking or traveling around getting in touch with nature. Oman offered me a well needed compensatory dosage.

Hiking the Wadi Shab gorge and what a hike that was <3

Hiking the Wadi Shab gorge and what a hike that was ❤

In Muscat I was able to enjoy simple pleasures, those effortlessly little things that can make you feel happy and content. I was amused by walking along the corniche taking time to dip my feet in the cool water while enjoying some sunshine. I loved sitting outdoors in the fresh night air to have a drink or some ice cream just outside the old souq of Mutrah which overlooks the corniche. Or even basking in the nightly breeze by the beach listening to some  music with the moonlight slithering over us. I felt relaxed and at peace; I thought to myself that we don’t really need to spend much or go extravagant to enjoy ourselves because most of the times those little things are all that matters.

Qurum Beach .. With those tropical palm trees and people playing Bob Marley's music it won't feel like the Middle East

Qurum Beach in Muscat. With those tropical palm trees and people playing Bob Marley’s music it won’t feel like the Middle East

That trip though short it was a bliss and it made me feel composed and tranquil; I couldn’t be more grateful. Till next time Oman  ❤

Hiking Jabel Akhdar (The Green Mountain), you can view the terraces in the right section of the photo.

Hiking Jabel Akhdar (The Green Mountain), you can view the terraces in the right section of the photo.

 

 

Of course roaming with the local is the best way to get to know the country :) It wouldn't have been the same without you guys, thanks a bunch :)

Of course roaming with the locals is the best way to get to know a country … It wouldn’t have been the same without you guys, thanks a bunch 🙂

7 thoughts on “Let’s go to Oman …

Leave a Reply

